The lofty hall rising with the tower to an impressive 29m (95ft) is eloquent of the 7th Earl’s pride. The stunning fan vaulting is by Francis Bernasconi, the effigies around the hall at first floor level are carved from Malta stone by Sir Richard Westmacott, and the canopies are by Wyatville. The figures are, from the centre of the staircase going clockwise, King Edward VI; Sanchia, mother of the founder of the monastery; Edward the Black Prince; an Ashridge monk; St. Benedict; Thomas de Cantilupe; Richard of Watford; Edmund of Cornwall, founder of the monastery, and finally his father, Richard Earl of Cornwall. The stunning fan vaulting is by Francis Bernasconi, the effigies around the hall at first floor level are carved from Malta stone by Sir Richard Westmacott, and the canopies are by Wyatville.

Welcome to Ashridge House

To explore the different rooms at Ashridge House
use the room menu on the left of the screen.

The sweeping imperial cantilevered staircase was completed by Benjamin Wyatt with cast iron balustrade, brass handrail, and two lanterns following his father’s death. The lampshades above the statuary were added in 1928 by Clough Williams Ellis when he adapted the house for use as a college. He also added the two oak telephone boxes. Formerly used as a breakfast room and a billiard room, it is now named after Sir Reginald Hoskins, the first Principal of the Bonar Law College. A portrait of Sir Reginald painted by Oswald Birley hangs on the east wall. The Italian fireplace was imported by Lady Marian Alford specifically for this room bearing the inscription G. Pandiani fece in Milano 1858 and depicts an unknown lady. The east wing beyond this point formed the Egerton family’s private apartments when they lived at the house. The ornate plaster ceiling depicts fruits of the earth, and was modelled on the Scala d’Oro (Golden Staircase) in the Doge’s Palace, Venice. This room was named after architect James Wyatt who played an important role in designing the new house for the Egerton family. The room was originally used as the family dining room, and Austrian oak panelling was introduced in c.1863. As a central axis of the public rooms, three pairs of English oak doors are noteworthy. Those leading to the Wyatt Room depict entwined "As", representing the Christian names of Adelbert (3rd Earl Brownlow) and his wife Adelaide, who married in 1868 at about the time the new interiors were created. Surrounded by limewood carving is a portrait of Urban Hanlon Broughton, the major benefactor behind the 1928 endowment of the house and gardens to the Bonar Law Memorial Trust. Originally the dining room, this room was comprehensively redecorated by Lady Marian Alford. The ceiling depicts the goddess Aurora strewing flowers in the path of the Apollo’s chariot. The small lunettes at the ends represent the winds of night and day. The border based on a smaller ceiling at Wilton House in Salisbury, portrays art, agriculture, trade, commerce, hunting, science, and war. The white marble chimney-pieces and surrounds were based on those in the Doge’s Palace, Venice. Until 1989 this room was used as the school’s library. All the ceilings in the house once looked like this until Lady Marian Alford commissioned a large-scale redecoration project. The document to the right of the fireplace is the lease for Ashridge granted by Elizabeth I to Richard Combe. The bookcases are ebony inlaid with brass in the bhul style (the two inner panels mirror the outer two). The document to the left of the fireplace is the deed of a small parliament held here when King Edward I stayed over Christmas following the death of his wife Eleanor. This room was originally a walkway to the Chapel, serving as a winter garden and conservatory. The roof was once glass, and the wooden area of floor was soil. The circular mark on the current walkway indicates where a fountain once stood. When Ashridge became a college, this space was remodelled and the area above the new solid ceiling was converted into single study bedrooms. Today these rooms are now used for teaching. This used to be the family chapel where a service was held every day It was completed in 1817 and is generally regarded as the best surviving example of James Wyatt’s work in the Gothic Revival style. The windows were originally 16th century stained glass taken from a monastery in Bavaria, but they were removed and sold at Sotheby’s in 1928 for £27,000 (the house itself only sold for £26,000!). Part of the 1954 Trust Deed requires that prayers continue to be said in the Chapel as part of college life. There is a short non-denominational service every Wednesday at 8am. Below the Chapel is a 70m (224ft) deep well sunk by the monks at the end of the 13th century through the chalk. In the 17th century ponies were used to operate the drawing up of the water. This well served as the main water supply until 1857-8 when the Ashridge Water Company was formed, bringing water to some estate villages and Ashridge itself at a cost of £15,000. Brass handles to the loose boxes depict the entwined "As" for the Earl and Countess Brownlow and above in the woodwork the red lions from the Bridgewater coat of arms can be seen. Designed by Sir Jeffry Wyatville in 1817, the Old Stables comprise oak stalls and loose boxes with attractive flooring bricks set in patterns.

Sorry but this doesn’t work on mobile devices.

Find out more about Ashridge House’s amazing history, building and grounds